The Wreck of the Titanic

1912, parlour music by Haydon Augarde, with dramatic cover


Haydon Augarde, pseud. Charles Arthur Rawlings


The Lawrence Wright Music Co, London, 1912
The Wreck of the TitanicThe Wreck of the TitanicThe Wreck of the Titanic

Printing Details

Undated but 1912. First edition, 8pp in unbound sheets. 35 × 25.5cm.

The Wreck of the Titanic is one of many pieces of salon music issued in London and New York within weeks of the tragedy. Haydon Augarde (pseudonym of Charles Arthur Rawlings) was a prolific composer. This piece has an impressive and dramatic cover illustration with the sinking ship still afloat, life boats sailing away and with many still aboard. The music itself goes from bars titled "Afloat on the ocean blue" and "Smoothly sailing" before descending into "Iceberg" and "Women and Children First" and "Nearer my God, to thee, before ending on Chopin's Funeral March (here described as Buried at Sea).


Good condition for age. The pages are tanned throughout and there are several small closed tears to the edges. The covers are have closed tears to the spine ends and there is a neat previous owner's name to the front.

Shipping charges

Please choose from United Kingdom / Europe / Rest of the World from the drop down menu below to show the postage cost to your part of the world.



By clicking the Buy Now button you'll transfer the product information and shipping price in encrypted form over a secure connection to PayPal's server where you'll complete the transaction.

The Wreck of the TitanicThe Wreck of the TitanicThe Wreck of the Titanic

Browse by Date


Browse by